Listed American Cities

 

Travel and Leisure Magazine likes lists.  I tend to mistrust them even though I went to Penzance on The New York Times recommendation this year and Mexico City last year.   Below are reflections on 2 T&L lists.

Last year Travel & Leisure published a list of “America’s Favorite Cities”.   It was based on an annual survey of readers, and the text was written by Katrina Brown Hunt.   There were 30 cities selected for honors.  Among the top 10, 2 each were in Texas, Tennessee, and Virginia.  The other four were Buffalo, New York, Albuquerque, New Mexico, Raleigh, North Carolina, and Providence, Rhode Island. Buffalo was #1. Buffalo!  I can’t remember the last time I said to Ruth, “Let’s go to Buffalo.”   Maybe I should.  We’ve been to all of Katrina’s cities, but some not recently.  We have traveled to San Antonio, Nashville, Albuquerque, and Fort Worth on recommendations in the last couple of years. All 4 are list-worthy.

The 2nd list was just published on July 11, 2017.  On it Jacqueline Gifford documented “The top 15 Cities in the United States”. She mentioned that 8 0f the 15 were in The South. She listed 2 criteria for winners–they play host to festivals and attract inventive chefs. There are only 2 cities in the top ten on both lists–Nashville and San Antonio.  We like both and have been to all 10 of Jacqueline’s winners recently except for Asheville, North Carolina.  Buffalo is not on her list, but the cities that are, like Savannah and Austin, are definitely crowd pleasers.

My personal list would be different from the 2 above.  Big cities that we tend to regularly repeat include Seattle, Phoenix, Chicago, Las Vegas, Denver, Vancouver, BC, etc.  We’re actually heading to Vancouver tomorrow.  For roots reasons we like Madison, Wisconsin, Springfield, Illinois, and other Midwest destinations.

I do pay attention to current travel buzz.  This has taken Ruth and me to Oklahoma City, Los Angeles, and Charleston recently.   It’s the reason why we’ll more than likely travel to Galena, Illinois, soon for a reunion with her cousins.

Hank

 

 

 

About roadsrus

Since the beginning, I've had to avoid writing about the downside of travel in order to sell more than 100 articles. Just because something negative happened doesn't mean your trip was ruined. But tell that to publishers who are into 5-star cruise and tropical beach fantasies. I want to tell what happened on my way to the beach, and it may not have been all that pleasant. My number one rule of the road is...today's disaster is tomorrow's great story. My travel experiences have appeared in about twenty magazines and newspapers. I've been in all 50 states more than once and more than 50 countries. Ruth and I love to travel internationally--Japan, Canada, China, Argentina, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, etc. Within the next 2 years we will have visited all of the European countries. But our favorite destination is Australia. Ruth and I have been there 9 times. I've written a book about Australia's Outback, ALONE NEAR ALICE, which is available through both Amazon & Barnes & Noble. My first fictional work, MOVING FORWARD, GETTING NOWHERE, has recently been posted on Amazon. It's a contemporary, hopefully funny re-telling of The Odyssey. View all posts by roadsrus

Comments are disabled.

