Magnificent MONA

The Museum of Neon Art opened in downtown Los Angeles in 1981.  I liked it a lot.  A couple of years ago it announced that it was moving to Glendale.  There was no MONA while the new museum was being built.  I know because I tracked its progress.  It reopened at the end of 2015.   I am thrilled to report that it exceeds expectations and is a 5 Compass endeavor.  I hope they never drop the word Art from its official name because this museum truly explores light as an art form.  Its mission statement mentions neon, electric, and kinetic art.  MONA, now at 216 South Brand in Glendale, is simply compact and great.

The Museum of Neon Art (MONA) will offer both rotating exhibits and examples from its permanent collection.  Currently, it has 2 shows on display.  Both are exceptional.  “Designing the Improbable” and “The Art of Plasma” have been extended to September 3rd, which is a very good thing.  The works are for sale.  Below is an example of their brilliance.  Called “Runners”, it’s by David Svenson.  Plasma offers new and stunning  works by Boston-based Wayne Strattman.  If you plan to be in the Los Angeles area before autumn begins, go and see these consistently exceptional glowing creations.

MONA appears to have particular appeal to the young.  Kim Koga, Director since 1999, encouraged me to check out the neon on the ceiling in the ladies room that she said has already been captured on many cell phones.  Ruth agreed with Kim so I headed there.   But I actually found the one in the men’s room, a blue comb on which the word unbreakable is imposed, more interesting.

Hank

ps  Teacher Ruth saw this before I posted it and insisted that I add the MONA info that “Blew her away”. Gasses commonly used include in plasma and neon sculptures are Nitrogen, Oxygen, Argon, Neon, Helium, Krypton, Xenon, Mercury, Iodine, and Sulfur Hexafluoride.

About roadsrus

Since the beginning, I've had to avoid writing about the downside of travel in order to sell more than 100 articles. Just because something negative happened doesn't mean your trip was ruined. But tell that to publishers who are into 5-star cruise and tropical beach fantasies. I want to tell what happened on my way to the beach, and it may not have been all that pleasant. My number one rule of the road is...today's disaster is tomorrow's great story. My travel experiences have appeared in about twenty magazines and newspapers. I've been in all 50 states more than once and more than 50 countries. Ruth and I love to travel internationally--Japan, Canada, China, Argentina, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, etc. Within the next 2 years we will have visited all of the European countries. But our favorite destination is Australia. Ruth and I have been there 9 times. I've written a book about Australia's Outback, ALONE NEAR ALICE, which is available through both Amazon & Barnes & Noble. My first fictional work, MOVING FORWARD, GETTING NOWHERE, has recently been posted on Amazon. It's a contemporary, hopefully funny re-telling of The Odyssey. View all posts by roadsrus

Leave a Reply

