From Argentina to Uruguay

dsc03880

On January 11, 2016, I wrote about The New York Times 52 best places to visit in 2016.  It’s almost time for The Times best for 2017.   Its #1 choice for 2016 travel was Mexico City.  Ruth & I made it there in May and had a great time.  It was worthy of the #1 slot.   I also wanted to go to #2, Bordeaux, France, but we didn’t make it there.  I wanted to go to #11 Guadeloupe in December but Ruth didn’t.  We’ve been to #3 Malta, #5 Theodore Roosevelt National Park, and #7 Toronto.  Malta is one of the world’s best destinations.  In fact, National Geographic Traveler has already selected it for its list of the 21 “Best of the World” for 2017.

I’m glad that The New York Times included St. Louis in its bests of 2016.  My hometown, #46 on its list, has lots of great places to explore like the Tivoli Theater and the World Chess Hall of Fame and Museum.  I have blogged about those and many other fine attractions.   I still get mad when St. Louis shows up on a list of bad places to visit.  It happens.  Even though I’ll be there more than once in 2017, if I were you I’d wait to go to St. Louis until the Union Station project that means a dancing fountain, an aquarium, a major ferris wheel, and a whole lot more becomes operational by 2018.

dsc00633

The other destinations in The New York Times top ten 2016 were The Virgin Islands, specifically St. John’s Coral Bay, Mozambique, Abu Dhabi, Skane, Sweden, and Cuba.  One summer Ruth & I went from country to country in Scandinavia, but we didn’t make it to Skane. Now we have a reason to return to Sweden, a 5 Compass destination.  I’d love to see the Vasa again and take the Norwegian train from Oslo to Bergen, which is one of my top ten travel experiences of all time.  Ruth & I are going to Cuba next month.

#15 on The New York Times 2016 list was Argentina.   It’s traveling contributor raved about the Road of the Seven Lakes in Patagonia.  We’ve been to Patagonia but not the lakes. Unfortunately, Ruth’s birthday is between Christmas and New Year’s Day.  As a result, I try to take her to an exotic destination each year to celebrate.  This is not the best time of year to go north, so this year we’re heading south, way south.  Ruth will have her 2016 birthday dinner in Colonia del Sacramento.

Hank

Magical Malta

img_1763

About roadsrus

Since the beginning, I've had to avoid writing about the downside of travel in order to sell more than 100 articles. Just because something negative happened doesn't mean your trip was ruined. But tell that to publishers who are into 5-star cruise and tropical beach fantasies. I want to tell what happened on my way to the beach, and it may not have been all that pleasant. My number one rule of the road is...today's disaster is tomorrow's great story. My travel experiences have appeared in about twenty magazines and newspapers. I've been in all 50 states more than once and more than 50 countries. Ruth and I love to travel internationally--Japan, Canada, China, Argentina, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, etc. Within the next 2 years we will have visited all of the European countries. But our favorite destination is Australia. Ruth and I have been there 9 times. I've written a book about Australia's Outback, ALONE NEAR ALICE, which is available through both Amazon & Barnes & Noble. My first fictional work, MOVING FORWARD, GETTING NOWHERE, has recently been posted on Amazon. It's a contemporary, hopefully funny re-telling of The Odyssey. View all posts by roadsrus

Comments are disabled.

