The Steady Aspen Art Museum

dsc05318

Also relatively new in Aspen is its art museum.  It now occupies the corner where the venerable Wienerstube Restaurant used to be at 637 East Hyman. Because it’s free, Ruth & I have visited the Aspen Art Museum twice.  I expected to write about it after our first visit but just couldn’t for some reason. Reviewing yesterday’s blog, I decided it’s time to comment on it.

First of all, it’s kind of shocking that it’s even there.  A big city art museum in a town of fewer than 7,000 residents, many of whom live there only part-time, is kind of amazing.  It was created by Japanese architect Shigeru Ban and made a lot more sense after I read that he is trying to duplicate the skiing experience in his design.  My favorite spaces are the grand staircase, the public rooftop restaurant, and the glass elevator.  The restaurant, SO, is named for a typical Japanese brushstroke and seems to have caught on.    It’s a busy place that is used for a lot more than dining.  Movies, meetings, and music events are regular museum features.   What I don’t especially like about it are its exterior blocky weave design, the lowest level, and the unimaginative display spaces.   The building seems too big for a small, mountain town despite the sizes of many of its homes.  The lowest level is dark and plain.   The display spaces are traditional and filled with temporary contemporary art that is, in my opinion, too similar.

dsc05333

Our first visit included a display of spirit photography and featured the flamboyant art of Chris Ofili.  The idea behind spirit photography is, at least, interesting.  When photography became more common, some like Sir Arthur Conan Doyle believed that it was possible to sometimes capture the spirits of the deceased on camera.  Born in England but living in Trinidad, Ofili’s output is inspired by hip hop, Blaxploitation films, etc.  I had several interesting discussions with the young staff who was around the artist’s images all day and had developed deeper understanding than I could in mere minutes.  Ruth was in and out in five minutes while I lingered to talk.  Both exhibits are long gone and probably part of the reason why I waited for a year to write about this museum.

In summer 2016, Ruth & I both admired Lynda Benglis’ Pink Ladies on the roof Deck Sculpture Garden.  See them above.  They are now gone too.  Still in the museum until December 18 is the art of Gabriel Orozco that we did see.   A Mexican artist that the Aspen Art Museum calls “critically acclaimed,” most of the examples of his work did show Orozco’s interest in geometry.

This museum’s curators seem totally focussed on contemporary artists.   This is not criticism but it does cause a sort-of-sameness to what I and others see as we breeze through the Aspen Art Museum.  A bit more diversity might cause longer and more thoughtful visits.

Hank

 

 

About roadsrus

Since the beginning, I've had to avoid writing about the downside of travel in order to sell more than 100 articles. Just because something negative happened doesn't mean your trip was ruined. But tell that to publishers who are into 5-star cruise and tropical beach fantasies. I want to tell what happened on my way to the beach, and it may not have been all that pleasant. My number one rule of the road is...today's disaster is tomorrow's great story. My travel experiences have appeared in about twenty magazines and newspapers. I've been in all 50 states more than once and more than 50 countries. Ruth and I love to travel internationally--Japan, Canada, China, Argentina, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, etc. Within the next 2 years we will have visited all of the European countries. But our favorite destination is Australia. Ruth and I have been there 9 times. I've written a book about Australia's Outback, ALONE NEAR ALICE, which is available through both Amazon & Barnes & Noble. My first fictional work, MOVING FORWARD, GETTING NOWHERE, has recently been posted on Amazon. It's a contemporary, hopefully funny re-telling of The Odyssey. View all posts by roadsrus

Comments are disabled.

