Eat, Chow, and Bite

DSC03885

If you’re among the 41,000,000 visitors who will spend time in Las Vegas in 2016, try one of Natalie Young’s dining places.  All 3 are downtown and she has breakfast, lunch, dinner, and now evening covered deliciously.  In only 4 years Natalie has become a notable success in a competitive town.  I’m not surprised.

Born in St Louis like me but now committed to Las Vegas, Natalie opened her first restaurant at 707 Carson Street in September, 2012, after more than 20 years in the business.   Serving breakfast and lunch, eat has become a very busy landmark.

When I talked to Natalie last year, she was getting ready to open a 2nd restaurant that she described as a combination of Southern and Chinese cuisine.  The expression on her face showed the confidence that she could make this dubious combo work.  It does.   Quietly down-to-earth, Natalie calls chow her Chicken & Chinese Joint.  When Ruth & I ate there for the first time recently, I found the barley vegetable stir fry so outstanding that I couldn’t stop eating it until the bowl was empty.  Also on the menu and highly recommended are crispy southern fried chicken and an appetizer called kinda Chinese riblets.   Zagat rated Chow at 1020 Fremont Street is across from the Bunkhouse.

The Bunkhouse is a Las Vegas institution that reopened after only a 5 month closure.  Downtown Las Vegas’ 1st music venue featuring both stable and emerging bands, The Bunkhouse Saloon opened in 1953, closed in July, 2015, and reopened the following November.  The management wisely offered the food operation to Natalie.  She accepted the challenge and calls her new in-house restaurant serving Bunkhouse patrons bite.  One Reviewer on Yelp enthused, “The mac&cheese balls were a decadent treat.”  Bree at chow recommended them too.   She even wrote “Sriracha mac + cheese balls” down for me so I wouldn’t forget.

Dine happy all day thanks to Natalie Young.

DSC03884

Hank

About roadsrus

Since the beginning, I've had to avoid writing about the downside of travel in order to sell more than 100 articles. Just because something negative happened doesn't mean your trip was ruined. But tell that to publishers who are into 5-star cruise and tropical beach fantasies. I want to tell what happened on my way to the beach, and it may not have been all that pleasant. My number one rule of the road is...today's disaster is tomorrow's great story. My travel experiences have appeared in about twenty magazines and newspapers. I've been in all 50 states more than once and more than 50 countries. Ruth and I love to travel internationally--Japan, Canada, China, Argentina, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, etc. Within the next 2 years we will have visited all of the European countries. But our favorite destination is Australia. Ruth and I have been there 9 times. I've written a book about Australia's Outback, ALONE NEAR ALICE, which is available through both Amazon & Barnes & Noble. My first fictional work, MOVING FORWARD, GETTING NOWHERE, has recently been posted on Amazon. It's a contemporary, hopefully funny re-telling of The Odyssey. View all posts by roadsrus

Comments are disabled.

