Movies Made in Texas

IMG_0100

As I predicted on January 26, Rosanne Cash won 3 Grammys for The River and The Thread. Emboldened, I’m now going to name the film that should win the Academy Award for Best Picture on February 22 and comment on where it was filmed, which is as important to me as how it was filmed.

Ruth & I saw 5 of the 8 nominated films and I hoped that Boyhood would win. Filmed over 12 years as Ellar Coltrane aged from 7 to 19, Boyhood was like no other movie ever made in addition to being great.  Boyhood was shot entirely in Texas, one of my favorite destinations, where movies have been made since The Immortal Alamo was released in 1911.

I believe that Texas has more interesting movie-set, small towns than any other state, and I’m planning a series on them.  I’ll write about my favorites-Bandera, Bastrop, Nacogdoches, etc.  I’ve already blogged about Alpine and Bryan.

This year Ruth & I visited Fredericksburg, which has been added to the list. Boyhood was filmed in Bastrop, Alpine, and San Marcos.  Some scenes were done in the Big Bend area where Ruth celebrated her birthday in 2012.  It was also shot on location in 2 big cities, Austin and Houston, and in Terlingua, which I mentioned in “Farm to Market Texas 170” written on January 2, 2013.

There are 2 main reasons why Ruth & I usually go to Texas in winter or spring.  One is better weather than we experience in the rainy Northwest. The 2nd is opportunity.   Texas is an inexhaustible source for travel writers.   Every year we leave things out or unfinished because we run out of time. This year we explored Dick’s Classic Garage, the Devil’s Rope Museum, and several attractions in San Antonio that have nothing to do with missions.

Boyhood was made in Texas because its director, Richard Linklater, makes a lot of his films there.  He was born in Houston and lives in Austin.   I’ve been a fan since I saw Slacker and Dazed and Confused, both filmed in Texas. One of his recent films, Bernie, is one of my all-time favorites; and I just learned that the subject of this weird story, Bernie Tiede, is living in Richard Linklater’s garage!

Hank

 

About roadsrus

Since the beginning, I've had to avoid writing about the downside of travel in order to sell more than 100 articles. Just because something negative happened doesn't mean your trip was ruined. But tell that to publishers who are into 5-star cruise and tropical beach fantasies. I want to tell what happened on my way to the beach, and it may not have been all that pleasant. My number one rule of the road is...today's disaster is tomorrow's great story. My travel experiences have appeared in about twenty magazines and newspapers. I've been in all 50 states more than once and more than 50 countries. Ruth and I love to travel internationally--Japan, Canada, China, Argentina, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, etc. Within the next 2 years we will have visited all of the European countries. But our favorite destination is Australia. Ruth and I have been there 9 times. I've written a book about Australia's Outback, ALONE NEAR ALICE, which is available through both Amazon & Barnes & Noble. My first fictional work, MOVING FORWARD, GETTING NOWHERE, has recently been posted on Amazon. It's a contemporary, hopefully funny re-telling of The Odyssey. View all posts by roadsrus

Comments are disabled.

