Istanbul’s Magnificent Suleymaniye

DSC00399

Australian friend Jane, whose favorite city in the world is Istanbul, listed for Ruth and me the 3 most important places to visit—Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace, and the Süleymaniye Mosque.  The last, she added, was far more impressive than the Blue Mosque.  The Hagia Sophia became one of my greatest travel experiences.  Topkapi Palace was closed on Tuesdays. Süleyman I was a law-making sultan,  poet, and art lover.  He founded the mosque named for him.  He was called Süleyman the Magnificent.  The same word should also be used to describe his mosque.

As soon as we got off the tram, men approached and beseeched us to hire them for a tour of the Blue Mosque.  World-traveler Jane’s information is reliable, so we headed up the steep hill to Süleymaniye instead.   As we neared an exotic, castle-like gateway, I spotted a sign that told me that this mosque was built during the Ottoman period with construction beginning in 1550.  It was part of a complex that included a charity institution for the poor and orphans including Jews and Christians.   The needy could stay here with no charge and were given food provided by public soup-kitchens.  From the beginning this mosque was both a place of worship and a charitable foundation surrounded by a hospital, schools, a bathhouse, etc.  It fed over 1,000 every day according to Eyewitness Travel Turkey.  Both the mosque complex and its neighborhood are now part of a protected conservation area.

The mosque’s creator was a talented man named Sinan.   Süleyman I named him chief imperial architect in 1538.  Before he died at the age of 97, Sinan had built 131 mosques including the Süleymaniye.

Visitors who follow 7 basic rules are welcomed inside.  #2 was “Please take off your shoes and place them in the shelf or put them in a bag.”  #5 was “Please do not take photos and use camera during the pray.”   Ruth and I put our shoes in a flimsy, provided plastic bag, and, luckily, it was not a time of pray so I could take the photo above.  Unlike the Hagia Sophia, which has been a museum since the 1930s, Süleymaniye is an active mosque with men outside washing their feet before entering, etc.

The dome pictured above is both awesome and an architectural marvel.  It’s height is exactly twice its diameter, which is 85 feet.  Eyewitness Travel calls Süleymaniye “Istanbul’s most important mosque.”  Now I know why.   Jane was right.

Hank

About roadsrus

Since the beginning, I've had to avoid writing about the downside of travel in order to sell more than 100 articles. Just because something negative happened doesn't mean your trip was ruined. But tell that to publishers who are into 5-star cruise and tropical beach fantasies. I want to tell what happened on my way to the beach, and it may not have been all that pleasant. My number one rule of the road is...today's disaster is tomorrow's great story. My travel experiences have appeared in about twenty magazines and newspapers. I've been in all 50 states more than once and more than 50 countries. Ruth and I love to travel internationally--Japan, Canada, China, Argentina, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, etc. Within the next 2 years we will have visited all of the European countries. But our favorite destination is Australia. Ruth and I have been there 9 times. I've written a book about Australia's Outback, ALONE NEAR ALICE, which is available through both Amazon & Barnes & Noble. My first fictional work, MOVING FORWARD, GETTING NOWHERE, has recently been posted on Amazon. It's a contemporary, hopefully funny re-telling of The Odyssey. View all posts by roadsrus

Comments are disabled.

