R Rated Great Britain

DSC04705

In August, 2013, the towns of Boring, Oregon, population 7,500, and Dull, Scotland, population about 80, got together to defend their names and boost interest in visiting them.  Oregon now has a new state holiday–Boring and Dull Day.  Those who attended were treated to a flag salute, a barbershop quartet, a single bagpiper, etc.   Yawn.  It sounds like these towns are determined to live up to their names.

I’ve previously written about US places with unusual names, and my favorite town name remains Intercourse, Pennsylvania.  I often wonder if the residents blush or get defensive when they say the name of the place where they live.

But the US is a Puritan compared to Great Britain.   Notice the X on the Welcome to Scotland sign.

One dull day on the road near Dull, I happened to be looking at my Great Britain  maps and glimpsed a town named Studley Roger.  Wondering how it got its name and a little jealous of Roger, I began looking for more names with sexual connotations.   I found an abundance in 10 minutes.   Inchbare, Comers, Dykeland, Wormit, Bonkle, Slamannan, Woodend, Ramsbottom, Long Preston, Little Fenton, Upthrope, Hardwick, Hanging Heaton, and Tingley were just a few towns that I found before I gave up.   But later the game continued–Priors Hardwick, Dunkswick, etc. and I found a mountain named Naked Tan and another called Cock Cairn before the game became Boring.  Did the town namers actually call their hamlet Ramsbottom without realizing that the name is a bit like a Miley Cyrus performance at an awards show?  When it and Woodend get together to increase tourism, I’ll go and find out.

Today Ruth and I are hitting the road for British Columbia for our annual cousins’ reunion.  Our destinations this year include 2 of my favorite cities, Vancouver and Victoria, BC, but we probably won’t make it to Skookumchuck or Spuzzum.

Hank

 

About roadsrus

Since the beginning, I've had to avoid writing about the downside of travel in order to sell more than 100 articles. Just because something negative happened doesn't mean your trip was ruined. But tell that to publishers who are into 5-star cruise and tropical beach fantasies. I want to tell what happened on my way to the beach, and it may not have been all that pleasant. My number one rule of the road is...today's disaster is tomorrow's great story. My travel experiences have appeared in about twenty magazines and newspapers. I've been in all 50 states more than once and more than 50 countries. Ruth and I love to travel internationally--Japan, Canada, China, Argentina, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, etc. Within the next 2 years we will have visited all of the European countries. But our favorite destination is Australia. Ruth and I have been there 9 times. I've written a book about Australia's Outback, ALONE NEAR ALICE, which is available through both Amazon & Barnes & Noble. My first fictional work, MOVING FORWARD, GETTING NOWHERE, has recently been posted on Amazon. It's a contemporary, hopefully funny re-telling of The Odyssey. View all posts by roadsrus

Comments are disabled.

