Seek & Find Las Vegas’ SNMFA

DSC01422

“Best bargain you will find!  There are several galleries and many of the pieces are on sale (portions of the sales goes towards keeping the museum going and the rest go to the artist).  If you have any interest in art and potentially buying pieces definitely check them out.”

I found Steven L.’s comment above on yelp.com as I was preparing to write about the Southern Nevada Museum of Fine Art, a 5 Compass attraction in Las Vegas.   I couldn’t agree more with Steven.  It is an incredible bargain, and a great experience.

A bit hard to find, SNMFA is up the escalator on the 2nd floor of Neonopolis at the east end of the pedestrian-only part of downtown Las Vegas’ Fremont Street in a surprisingly large 20,000 square feet facility.

As Ruth & I approached its door, volunteer Manager/Coordinator Lynn Jones was inside setting up a reception for SNMFA’s new show, International Masters of Photography.  As busy as she was, she graciously let us in to take a look and give us information about her Museum.  It has no endowment or corporate sponsors and depends solely on admission fees, member dues, sales, and donations.

The International Masters show is truly sensational with 32 artists from around the world-Australia, Canada, Iceland, England, etc.–represented. This is SNMFA’s 6th contemporary art masters exhibition with over 200 artists having been displayed.  My favorite photograph was Allen Lubitz’s “Peru 7” shown above.  Many were strikingly, hauntingly beautiful like Filip Kulisev’s “Grotfjord, Norway”.  This exceptional show runs only until March 23, 2013.

Southern Nevada Museum of Fine Art opened in 2008, and the exhibit space beyond its current photography show is filled with arresting contemporary art.  Some items  have been loaned by collectors, others are for sale.  I lusted after an original Marc Chagall lithograph available for $2,000 and an original intaglio by Salvador Dali for $15,000.  Both Ruth & I laughed at “Girl with iPod”, an oil painting lightheartedly paying homage to Gauguin.

When you’re in Las Vegas, you’ll find Southern Nevada Museum of Fine Art both a noteworthy addition to its varied attractions and an enterprise worth supporting.  Its mission is to offer cultural events designed to enhance the quality of life for the community.   It does that in spades.

Hank

About roadsrus

Since the beginning, I've had to avoid writing about the downside of travel in order to sell more than 100 articles. Just because something negative happened doesn't mean your trip was ruined. But tell that to publishers who are into 5-star cruise and tropical beach fantasies. I want to tell what happened on my way to the beach, and it may not have been all that pleasant. My number one rule of the road is...today's disaster is tomorrow's great story. My travel experiences have appeared in about twenty magazines and newspapers. I've been in all 50 states more than once and more than 50 countries. Ruth and I love to travel internationally--Japan, Canada, China, Argentina, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, etc. Within the next 2 years we will have visited all of the European countries. But our favorite destination is Australia. Ruth and I have been there 9 times. I've written a book about Australia's Outback, ALONE NEAR ALICE, which is available through both Amazon & Barnes & Noble. My first fictional work, MOVING FORWARD, GETTING NOWHERE, has recently been posted on Amazon. It's a contemporary, hopefully funny re-telling of The Odyssey. View all posts by roadsrus

11 responses to “Seek & Find Las Vegas’ SNMFA

  • cheap car insurance in nyc

    838667 472523Youre so cool! I dont suppose Ive learn something like this before. So good to search out any person with some unique thoughts on this subject. realy thanks for starting this up. this website is one thing thats wanted on the net, somebody with a bit originality. helpful job for bringing one thing new to the internet! 886701

  • roadsrus

    Great story. Thanks for writing. Bon appetit!
    Hank

  • roadsrus

    There are a few articles about Brussels in the archives. I was there in May, 2011. How can I help you?
    Hank

  • cheap auto insurance indiana

    522800 181531Hello there, just became alert to your blog via Google, and discovered that its truly informative. Im going to watch out for brussels. I will appreciate in the event you continue this in future. Numerous individuals will probably be benefited from your writing. Cheers! 52789

  • single women

    652011 515259Nice read, I just passed this onto a colleague who was doing a little research on that. And he just bought me lunch since I found it for him smile So let me rephrase that: Thank you for lunch! 469045

  • Computer Repair Service

    594060 675300Really informative and wonderful bodily structure of content material material , now thats user friendly (:. 801406

  • printer online

    483764 40740Very good day. Quite cool weblog!! Man .. Exceptional .. Remarkable .. Ill bookmark your internet site and take the feeds additionallyI am glad to locate numerous beneficial information appropriate here within the post. Thank you for sharing.. 511630

  • roadsrus

    Thanks for writing. I definitely will be back. I sensed a spirit in SNMFA that is rare & contagious. I’ll be writing about Las Vegas attractions, like the Smith Center, over the next couple of weeks. Many previous blogs in the archives are about art & culture. Please spread the word.

    Hank

  • Mary Bechtol

    So happy you reviewed the super museum in Vegas. I am a painter and have exhibited there with Contemporary masters 5. Lynn and staff are so great to work with. In September I will be displaying my work with Masters 6 at the Museum. Hope you can get back for another look. I think it would be worth your time. Best Wishes. Mary Bechtol

  • 1bn3ttv

    455003 660173Enjoyed examining this, quite very good stuff, thanks . 932008

  • Anonymous

    Dear Hank & Ruth,

    I am so pleased by your review of the Exhibition/Museum. I will email Allen and Filip about the blog. Allen was all smiles when I told him you wanted to use PERU 7.

