Australia, Part 36, Hamelin Pool

At the south end of Western Australia’s Shark Bay is unusual Hamelin Pool.  On our way there we stopped at Shell Beach, again, unusual.  Instead of being covered with sand, it’s covered with cockleshells, not alive, alive, oh.  The water of Shark Bay is also, well, unusual.  And then there are the stromatolites.  All of these phenomena are part of a World Heritage Area, as they should be.

Due to the area’s hot, dry climate and Shark Bay’s shallowness, bay water evaporates quickly concentrating natural salt and creating one of the few hypersaline water environments in the world.   The process also reduces sea life to only a few species that can survive in super-saltiness, like the long-ago cockleshell residents.

Billions of them have created Shell Beach on the western side of the Pèron Peninsula.  A reportedly 68 mile long and 10 to 15 feet deep mass of empty shells, this is one of only 2 such concentrations in the world.  The other is on St Barts in the Caribbean.   Cockleshells are so plentiful here that, before the beach was declared World Heritage, locals used their limestone known as Coquina in building construction.  When wet, Coquina make nice white bricks.  Visitors can walk on this beach but not remove shells for souvenirs. This beach stroll is admittedly kind of eerie.

So are the stromotolites of Hamelin Pool.  Discovered in 1954 by a group of surprised geologists, stromotolites are described as living rocks that occur only 2 other known places in the world–the Bahamas and the Persian Gulf. The world’s oldest organisms, they grow vvvvveeeerrrrryyyyy slowly.  In 1,000 years they increase less than half an inch.

Not being a geologist, I couldn’t fully understand or appreciate the importance of this scientific find. These brown rocks looked to me like what a prehistoric giant with diarrhea would leave behind as he waded in the water.  So rather than try, I’ll just tell you what was on a posted sign:  …oldest life forms on Earth… layered structures around for billions of years…first structures built by life form which produced oxygen so led the way for development of plant and animal life…3.5 billion years ago, the first living organism…blue green bacteria flourished and built colonies of stromatolites…” and so on. Another sign read, “When the tide is in, observe us closely.  You may see our air bubbles.”  But the tide wasn’t in (see picture above of stromatolies) and we were limited to a boardwalk well over them.  After mere seconds, most of the tourists were busy having their pictures taken with their heads stuck through one of those boards with a hole where the face would be.   On a scientific value scale, stromatolites would be off the chart.  On a visually compelling scale, they would barely register.

Hank

About roadsrus

Since the beginning, I've had to avoid writing about the downside of travel in order to sell more than 100 articles. Just because something negative happened doesn't mean your trip was ruined. But tell that to publishers who are into 5-star cruise and tropical beach fantasies. I want to tell what happened on my way to the beach, and it may not have been all that pleasant. My number one rule of the road is...today's disaster is tomorrow's great story. My travel experiences have appeared in about twenty magazines and newspapers. I've been in all 50 states more than once and more than 50 countries. Ruth and I love to travel internationally--Japan, Canada, China, Argentina, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, etc. Within the next 2 years we will have visited all of the European countries. But our favorite destination is Australia. Ruth and I have been there 9 times. I've written a book about Australia's Outback, ALONE NEAR ALICE, which is available through both Amazon & Barnes & Noble. My first fictional work, MOVING FORWARD, GETTING NOWHERE, has recently been posted on Amazon. It's a contemporary, hopefully funny re-telling of The Odyssey. View all posts by roadsrus

2 responses to “Australia, Part 36, Hamelin Pool

  • roadsrus

    Greetings from Washington. About 10 minutes ago, my iPhone bleeped (3G) and I found a message from you. Sorry you’re bored. Hope I can relieve that when you get home and check the blog. Awesome? Wow, thanks!
    Hank

  • Apple iPhone

    Greetings from Florida! I??m bored to death at work so I decided to check out your blog on my iphone during lunch break. I love the knowledge you provide here and can??t wait to take a look when I get home. I??m shocked at how fast your blog loaded on my mobile .. I??m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow, awesome blog!
    Apple iPhone

