Reasons to Travel

If I hadn’t taken this trip, I probably never would have:

eaten at Tavola in Bentonville, Arkansas

bucked waves on a Wave Runner

learned that Osage warriors could be up to 7 feet tall and were the most feared

met Jamie Ulick and learned about the bluebird of happiness and their pink kin

discovered the Brushy Mountains

spent an entire afternoon looking at Alice Walton’s unparalleled collection of American art at Crystal Bridges and playing a game:  name the artist she missed.

So why do I travel? Reread the above.

Hank

About roadsrus

Since the beginning, I've had to avoid writing about the downside of travel in order to sell more than 100 articles. Just because something negative happened doesn't mean your trip was ruined. But tell that to publishers who are into 5-star cruise and tropical beach fantasies. I want to tell what happened on my way to the beach, and it may not have been all that pleasant. My number one rule of the road is...today's disaster is tomorrow's great story. My travel experiences have appeared in about twenty magazines and newspapers. I've been in all 50 states more than once and more than 50 countries. Ruth and I love to travel internationally--Japan, Canada, China, Argentina, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, etc. Within the next 2 years we will have visited all of the European countries. But our favorite destination is Australia. Ruth and I have been there 9 times. I've written a book about Australia's Outback, ALONE NEAR ALICE, which is available through both Amazon & Barnes & Noble. My first fictional work, MOVING FORWARD, GETTING NOWHERE, has recently been posted on Amazon. It's a contemporary, hopefully funny re-telling of The Odyssey. View all posts by roadsrus

One response to “Reasons to Travel

  • Lisa Gurnsey

    I simply want to mention I’m newbie to blogging and definitely liked this web site. Most likely I’m likely to bookmark your website . You really have amazing posts. Many thanks for sharing your website.

