Travel Laughs

Travel is a source of unexpected mirth.

I love oxymorons.  The funniest one I ever saw was in New York City back when the streets not too far from Times Square contained a lot of seedy sex shops.  One had a marquee to lure customers in that promised LIVE FANTASY GIRLS!   In Ireland there’s a number of convenience stores named QUICK STOP.   Some high-profile types with the latest iStuff head off to five-star resorts on WORKING HOLIDAYS.   Other personal favorites:  divorced couple, new & improved, and “act naturally!”

A few months ago we were heading out of Houston on I-45 when I became fascinated, then amused, by some of the road signs advertising local businesses:   Slick Willie’s Family Pool Hall (family in this contest seems a bit of an oxymoron to me), Katz Boutique and Smoke, Zone’d Erotica, and Gamma Knife Brain Surgery.  I wonder if the last one has a drive-through option.

Funny stuff happens during travel.  Once we found a really good deal on the www for a 5-star hotel in Sydney, Australia.  It was one of those places where you simply can’t open a door for yourself because the staff really watches out for you while they watch you.  About the 3rd day, we asked the concierge if there was a self-service laundry nearby.  Without flinching, he looked one up for us.  Upon returning with our clean clothes, discretely we thought, we just happened to be sharing an elevator with one of the hotel’s bellhop-parking attendant-door openers.  Rather pleasantly, he looked us up and down and inquired quite seriously, “How did you hear about us?”

Hank

About roadsrus

Since the beginning, I've had to avoid writing about the downside of travel in order to sell more than 100 articles. Just because something negative happened doesn't mean your trip was ruined. But tell that to publishers who are into 5-star cruise and tropical beach fantasies. I want to tell what happened on my way to the beach, and it may not have been all that pleasant. My number one rule of the road is...today's disaster is tomorrow's great story. My travel experiences have appeared in about twenty magazines and newspapers. I've been in all 50 states more than once and more than 50 countries. Ruth and I love to travel internationally--Japan, Canada, China, Argentina, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, etc. Within the next 2 years we will have visited all of the European countries. But our favorite destination is Australia. Ruth and I have been there 9 times. I've written a book about Australia's Outback, ALONE NEAR ALICE, which is available through both Amazon & Barnes & Noble. My first fictional work, MOVING FORWARD, GETTING NOWHERE, has recently been posted on Amazon. It's a contemporary, hopefully funny re-telling of The Odyssey. View all posts by roadsrus

Comments are disabled.

