Riga’s Take-Your-Medicine Museum

Riga, Lativa’s Pauls Stradins Museum of the History of Medicine is a very serious place. Men and women in lab coats bustle about, sober school groups move from display to display, and the staff greets guests and readily answers questions.  But moving about its 3 floors is a bit, well, more than a bit, like visiting an old-time carnival sideshow. There were bizarre things in jars, vivid examples of smokers’ lungs, weird smells throughout, gruesome medical treatments graphically pictured, and the like. Much that you see virtually dares you to look away.  I couldn’t.  I peered at everything in fascination, knowing full well what I was going to dream about that night, maybe forever.  There is very little English accompanying displays, which is OK since what you’re gaping at, like the dress made of condoms, speaks for itself.

Much-honored Latvian Pauls Stradins had an illustrious career as a physician, professor, and cancer researcher.  Born in 1896, Stradins died in 1958 after founding this museum and donating his personal collection, more than 30 years of accumulation. He personally designed the Middle Ages exhibit on the Museum’s first floor that includes a frisson-inducing glimpse into a monastery asylum.  That’s what you see after you’ve made your way through dioramas of ancient medicine showing, among other chillers, a procedure called cranial trepanation.   Like me, you’d probably rather have skipped that one.

Ruth and I made our way slowly through every exhibit, ending with the very interesting room devoted to space medicine on the 3rd floor.  We saw entire reconstructed pharmacies from many eras, displays on the influence of Arabic medicine, historic medical books, the history of health resorts and healers, an entire early dental office, operating theaters that depicted the development of surgery, and too much more to detail here.

My personal nightmare inducers, the items that made me gasp in horror yet stare at as if nailed to the spot, were:

the photograph of the woman with small pox

the Medieval catheterization

the abnormally huge toe

and, especially, the two-headed dog (pictured below if you dare to look).

In the 1950’s a Russian scientist conducted a series of 20 experiments designed to find out what would happen if he blended the blood circulation systems of two dogs while maintaining each animal’s nervous system and brain.  The implanted little dog, according to display notes, could eat, sleep, and bite.  I would too.

Hank

About roadsrus

Since the beginning, I've had to avoid writing about the downside of travel in order to sell more than 100 articles. Just because something negative happened doesn't mean your trip was ruined. But tell that to publishers who are into 5-star cruise and tropical beach fantasies. I want to tell what happened on my way to the beach, and it may not have been all that pleasant. My number one rule of the road is...today's disaster is tomorrow's great story. My travel experiences have appeared in about twenty magazines and newspapers. I've been in all 50 states more than once and more than 50 countries. Ruth and I love to travel internationally--Japan, Canada, China, Argentina, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, etc. Within the next 2 years we will have visited all of the European countries. But our favorite destination is Australia. Ruth and I have been there 9 times. I've written a book about Australia's Outback, ALONE NEAR ALICE, which is available through both Amazon & Barnes & Noble. My first fictional work, MOVING FORWARD, GETTING NOWHERE, has recently been posted on Amazon. It's a contemporary, hopefully funny re-telling of The Odyssey. View all posts by roadsrus

5 responses to “Riga’s Take-Your-Medicine Museum

  • minecraft skins

    Fantastic goods from you, man. Riga’s Take-Your-Medicine Museum Roadsrus's Blog I’ve understand your stuff previous to and you are just extremely great. I really like what you’ve acquired here, really like what you’re stating and the way in which you say it. You make it entertaining and you still care for to keep it smart. I can’t wait to read far more from you. This is really a tremendous Riga’s Take-Your-Medicine Museum Roadsrus's Blog informations.

  • sex

    Wow, marvelous weblog layout! How long have you ever been blogging for? you make blogging glance easy. The entire look of your site is fantastic, as smartly as the content material!

  • Sports Agent Salary

    After study a few of the blog posts on your website now, and I truly like your way of blogging. I bookmarked it to my bookmark website list and will be checking back soon. Pls check out my web site as well and let me know what you think.

  • roadsrus

    Hi Jane,
    Passing along content is OK as long as you link. Thanks.

    Hank

  • Jane Williams

    Nice post. I learn something more challenging on different blogs everyday. It will always be stimulating to read content from other writers and practice a little something from their store. I’d prefer to use some with the content on my blog whether you don’t mind. Natually I’ll give you a link on your web blog. Thanks for sharing.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 134 other followers

